Tourist Drive 19 - Culture, Wilderness & Heritage
Gostwyck Chapel & Deeargee Woolshed
Officially known as ‘All Saints Anglican Church’, Gostwyck Chapel was built in 1921 in memory of Major Clive Collingwood Dangar who lost his life during World War I. The chapel was constructed entirely of bricks made and fired on Gostwyck Station. The stone wall surrounding the chapel was built to protect it from flood waters from the nearby Salisbury Waters. The magnificent tree lined avenue of 200 Elms was planted by a worker who was brought out from England specifically for the task.
The site is a favourite for photographers, especially during the autumn months when the leaves of the elm trees turn gold providing the perfect backdrop for the Virginia Creeper covering the chapel, which changes to a brilliant red.
Visitors can visit the chapel grounds and are reminded that this is private property and a family memorial. While visiting you are requested to respect the privacy of Gostwyck Station, its owners and its employees. Parking is only available on the side of Gostwyck Road - please do not enter the driveways.
A short stroll across the bridge which spans Salisbury Waters, brings visitors to Deeargee Woolshed which was built in 1872 to replace an earlier shed that had been destroyed by fire. Originally part of Gostwyck Station, Deeargee Station and its unique octagonal woolshed gained their name from the old Gostwyck wool brand, DRG, which stood for Dangar, Gostwyck.
Designed and erected by Alexander Mitchell, who also built McCrossin’s Mill in nearby Uralla, the woolshed is erected on brick pillars and its successive roofs are of galvanized iron. The side walls contain large amounts of glass. The woolshed has all facilities required for shearing, pressing, bailing, sorting and other operations. It even has a lightning conductor.
The Deeargee woolshed is still in use today and, although not open to visitors, is easily viewed from the roadside.
Today the Gostwyck and Deeargee properties are known for producing some of Australia’s finest wool. Both sites are 10km from Uralla on the Gostwyck Road.